Pink Pages     MyLocalHero 2022     Advertise with us     


ELECTION 2024: Daisy Cooper MP retains St Albans seat

 Published on: 5th July 2024   |   By: Panayiota Demosthenous   |   Category: Uncategorized

The St Albans constituency will remain yellow, as Daisy Cooper MP won the 2024 General Election by a momentous landslide.

After months of campaigning, it all boiled down to election night. In the early hours of this morning (July 5), it was revealed that Ms Cooper MP had secured 56.6 per cent of the votes, a massive 38.4 per cent gap from the Tories in second place.

Following her win, Ms Cooper MP said: “WOW. I’m so incredibly honoured to be re-elected as the Member of Parliament for St Albans and humbled by the result. I’m so grateful to everybody who has put their faith in me.”

This will be Ms Cooper MP’s second term as MP for St Albans, after initially being elected back in 2019 following 120 years of Tory, Labour and Liberal control.

Ms Cooper MP beat James Spender from the Conservative Party, Sophia Bhatti from the Labour Party, John Dowdle from Reform UK, Simon Grover from the Green Party, Dafydd Morriss from the Heritage Party, and Stewart Satterly from the Social Democrat Party.

Her win contributes to one of the Lib Dems’ most successful elections yet, having won more seats than the Conservatives.

Sign up to get weekly local news updates & offers:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Leave a comment



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.