Pink Pages     MyLocalHero 2022     Advertise with us     


ABOVE AND BEYOND: Celebrating Watford’s local heroes at the Audentior Awards

 Published on: 19th September 2019   |   By: News Desk   |   Category: Uncategorized

Watford residents from all walks of life will be attending the 16th Audentior Awards ceremony at the Watford Colosseum on the evening of Friday, October 11.

The great and good of Watford have been rewarded for their dedication to making the town a fantastic place to live at Watford Borough Council’s annual Audentior Awards.

The Audentior Awards, have eight categories including the Mayors Special Achievement Award.

The one attribute that all nominees share is the quality of their commitment, dedication, energy and effort in their particular field.

Elected Mayor of Watford, Peter Taylor said: “One of things that always strikes me is the number of people in our town who go above and beyond to do their bit for the community. 

“This evening is our way of saying thanks to those unsung heroes in the town and the many hours of their time to Watford.” ​

The 2019 nominees are:

  • Carer of the Year – Sarah Sullivan (Drum Watford), John Cunnane (he has cared for his wife who suffers from multiple sclerosis for 30 years) and Florence Gamino (Greenbanks Care Home and works as a nurse)
  • Charity Worker of the Year – Emma Power (Home-Start Watford & Three Rivers), Lynne Misner (Small Acts of Kindness), Tom Billington and Mel Boda (Electric Umbrella), Margaret Hudson (Watford General Hospital) and John Kelly (New Hope)
  • Public Service Award – Peter Gilbert (bus driver of the 318 bus), Susie Barnes / Helen Shirley (10th Oxhey Brownie unit) and Barbara Hankin (Leavesden Green Primary School)
  • Pride in Watford – Ruth Davies (Beechfield School), John Cox (Friends of Cassiobury Park) and Random Cafe – Sustainable Watford
  • Young Achiever of the Year – Reece Hornblow (Watford ABC) Connor Shanahan (Watford Museum) and Lee Keogh (West Herts College and Watford & West Herts Chamber of Commerce)
  • Contribution to Sport and Healthy Living – Watford Gymnastics Club, Julie Ann Riegal (free weekly walking group in Oxhey Village) and Proud Hornets.
  • Chairman’s Culture Award – Ela Paszkowska (Enrich Festival), Herts Inclusive Theatre and Pump House Theatre & Arts Centre.
  • Mayor Award – Roy Moore (1881 Club), Alison Thomas (Watford Womens Centre Plus) and Sam Torabi (Everyone Active and Peace Hospice Care)

To find out more about why they were nominated, visit

The Mayor’s Award, sponsored by Warner Bros, celebrates the outstanding contribution of an individual to our town. 

From the shortlist of three outstanding people, you can now vote for your favourite at 

Sign up to get weekly local news updates & offers:

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Leave a comment



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.